The Committee

Pursuant to Article X, Section 4 of the Constitution, Grand Alpha Steven Hopkins has appointed the following five Brothers to the Grand Alpha Nominating Committee:

  • James P. Soderquist, Alpha 1967, Epsilon 2014;
  • Ronald P. Frank, Nu Delta 1983, Iota Zeta 1989, Delta Zeta 2000;
  • Rocco Henry Carnevale, Mu 1980;
  • Robert K. Walker, Iota Delta, 1970
  • Safwan Chowdhury, Psi Zeta, 2022

Grand Alpha elections take place at Congress on even numbered years.

The election for the Grand Alpha who will serve from 2022-2024 will take place during the 156th Congress in July 2022 in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. 


A Nomination may be submitted by any Chi Phi Brother. All Nominees, however, must meet the following criteria set forth in the Constitution:

Article X, Section 2: “He shall be at least twenty-five (25) years of age and shall have been at least five (5) years a member of the Fraternity at the time of his election.”

Article X, Section 4(F): “No member of the committee shall be eligible for nomination as Grand Alpha for the forthcoming term.”

Accepting Nominations

Nominations are accepted until the 157th Congress begins in July 2023.

The Committee has created this form to make this process easy and accessible. Please ensure that you fill out each field completely and to the best of your knowledge. The Committee will be informed of your nomination and the Nominee notified.